Outgoing President's Message

ear friends, colleagues, and EMWA members, despite the global COVID-19 pandemic and the war in the Ukraine, EMWA's financial situation and membership numbers remained stable over my term of presidency. In fact, membership numbers slightly increased from 2021, and we are happy to welcome 20 new EMWA members this year. With the newly introduced concept of hybrid conferences, EMWA was able to support and engage our members on the new advances in the industry over the past years.

To provide year-long learning and engagements, several new working groups were established during my presidency (see EMWA's organigram):

- Communicating with the Public Special Interest Group (CwP SIG)
- Business Development Special Interest Group (BD SIG)
- Getting into Medical Writing (GiMW)
- EMWA's Creative Team (CT)
- Salary and Compensation Survey Team (SCST)
- EMWA Advisory Board (AB)

For further details, please see the president's report in the Annual Meeting (AM) report 2021-2022

All of the above initiatives would not have been possible without the continuous effort and commitment from our members, our volunteers, and Head Office. I believe I have never shared so much joy and sorrow with a group of people. Debra, Claire, Carrie, Tracey, Candi, and Amy – kudos to all of you.

I have the uttermost respect for my Executive Committee colleagues Satyen Shenoy, Somsuvro Basu, Sarah Choudhury, Marian Hodges, Maria João Almeida, Raquel Billiones, Diarmuid De Faoite, and Slávka Baróniková. We went through a number of controversial discussions but always treated each other with respect and lived up to the EMWA spirit. Because of our multicultural backgrounds, we were able to approach problems from very different angles which, in the end, guaranteed continuity for EMWA during these challenging times.

As Diarmuid De Faoite and Marian Hodges step down from their EMWA commitments, I would like to thank both for their long-term support. Both have shaped the organisation in many ways.

Thank you for your continuous commitment to the EMWA!

I am convinced that under the leadership of Satyen Shenoy (EMWA President 2022-2023) and Maria Kołtowska-Häggström (EMWA Vice President 2022-2023), the newly elected and appointed EC members (elected: Jules Kovacevic and Laura Collada Ali [Education Officers, cochairing]; appointed: Allison Kirsop [website manager]) will lead EMWA into an exciting postpandemic era.

Thank you for the exciting opportunity to lead EMWA from May 2021 to 2022.

Carola Krause
EMWA President 2021-2022

